top of page

Protecting Your Energy: Boundaries

Protecting your energy has been a topic of interest for ages, and it’s because it is so important. We live in a time where we are constantly surrounded by things and people more than ever before. However, there is nothing wrong with this as long as there are personal boundaries in place. Even for the most outgoing person constant simulation can be overwhelming. Many times, we do not always realize the importance of protecting our energy until we are drained. Growing up in a big family, I was always surrounded by people almost everywhere I went. This has translated into my personal life even throughout college. I love being able to connect and spend time with loved ones, but I never took the time to develop boundaries. It was not until I was overwhelmed and felt that so much was out of control that I realized that I was not taking care of me. It was then that I started developing personal boundaries for myself and those around me.

Taking the time out of your day to make sure you are whole will help you in all areas of your life. If you are not pouring into yourself, then you will find it difficult to reach your full capacity. Here are a few tips that have helped me protect and maintain my energy even in the most stressful of times.


Do Have Quiet Time

Having quiet time is something that I like to incorporate in my daily routine. This will look different for everyone, but for me it looks like reading my Bible, praying, listening to worship music, writing in my journal, or some sort of combination of them all. Sometimes (depending on how much time I have) my quiet time can last for hours. However, when I don’t have as much free time, I still try to carve out some time to focus on something other than school, work, life, etc. Whenever I feel like I need to refuel I try to add in some extra quiet time. This allows me to slow down and reflect on where I am spiritually, mentally, physically, etc.

Tip: Having a daily quiet time can help you from feeling burnt out. It can be as little as 5 minuets when you wake up to a couple of hours.

Do Something That Makes You Happy

Do you like to read? Is there a hobby that you have not done in a while? Whatever it is take some time to do it! Doing something solely because it makes you happy takes away the pressure of having to perform that you may experience in your daily life. A lot of times when we are not looking out for our well-being it is because we are so focused on the well-being of others. Do not fall into the trap of pouring so much into others that you neglect yourself. You officially have permission to treat yourself and do something that you enjoy! You deserve (and need) it!


Do Make it a Regular Thing

I am going to say this in so many posts because it is so important. If you want to see something improve in your life, then you have to make it a habit. If you are constantly feeling drained, then you need to regularly make sure you are not returning to that point. This is not only vital for your mental and spiritual health but also your physical well-being. I believe in planning, so I think the best way to do this is to set aside a specific time where you unplug from everything around you. If setting a time does not work for your weekly schedule, then make the set time more flexible. Instead of every Friday evening try one evening sometime during the week. The most important factor is to always be intentional about making time for yourself. Once it becomes a regular thing it will become easier to incorporate in your life!

Photo by Avi Richards on Unsplash


Do it by Yourself

While I don’t think this is always necessary it is still important. Sometimes you may want to enjoy time with friends and loved ones but take some time to just be by yourself. Being alone will help you reflect and refocus without having external distractions. In the beginning this can seem like a foreign task if you are used to being around people 24/7, but over time it will become “normal” for you. Plus, you will have the freedom to do whatever you want however you want all while regaining your focus and letting go of the daily stress of life. #nojudgementhere


Do NOT Feel Guilty for Doing it

This is probably one of the biggest challenges. When you decide to pour into yourself it does not always mean others will understand. If you jumped every time a request was made, or constantly went out of your way to get something done for someone else, then it is easy to feel guilty for focusing on yourself sometimes. The reality is you have developed a habit and those around you have gotten used to that habit. That is why it is important to set boundaries for yourself and others. An easy solution to this is communication. Let people know if you are taking some time for yourself and have someone that will hold you accountable if you need to. Once you get past the guilt of caring for yourself, you will start to realize that it is okay, and you will be the better for it!

We are merely vessels, so in addition to doing His will we have to ensure that we (the vessels) are in good condition.

Takeaways:

Remember to protect your energy! Why, because if we are not filled spiritually, emotionally, mentally, etc., then we cannot reach our full potential. This is true in all avenues of life. Protecting your energy is all about setting personal boundaries for yourself and others. As you take time to follow these steps you will learn a lot about yourself and what helps you thrive! As you are going through this week, take some time to reflect on how you are protecting your energy. If you realize that you need to adjust some things in your life that’s great! Now you have the tools to start!

Let’s chat! How do you protect your energy? Let me know in the comments!


Let’s stay connected! We’ll send updates straight to your inbox!

Subscribe!Leave this field empty if you’re human:

Recent Posts

See All

Simple Everyday Makeup Routine for Beginners

Welcome back! Here is a really simple makeup look that is perfect if you just want to freshen up a little bit! The products that I used are listed below! Let’s stay connected! We’ll send updates strai

How to Prepare for Your 1L Year

This summer has been crazy, but that is not stopping me from getting my stuff done! Here is a video on how I am currently preparing for law school. Enjoy! Scholarships for Law Students: https://www.wc

All Black_photo.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Hey! My name is Zakyrah and I am the writer and creator of Simply by Naté! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • YouTube
  • TikTok
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
bottom of page