top of page

5 Stages of Social Distancing: my experiences and thoughts…

Social distancing. During this time period I am sure many of us have been doing a lot of thinking as everything around us seems to be changing almost instantly. Being a self-proclaimed ambivert I enjoy having my alone time, but I also really love my social interaction. These are some of the stages that I have experienced during this quarantine…

1. Understanding

Initially, I had no idea what social distancing was or what it entailed. If I’m being honest, I had to do a little research to figure out what this would mean for myself and others in practice. With everything happening so quickly it was difficult to really know what to do sometimes. There was so much false and misleading information circulating on the internet making practicing social distancing kind of confusing. After educating myself, it became clear what was safe and what was not safe when practicing social distancing. It also helped to learn why social distancing is important in a time like this.

2. Appreciation

For me the next step was appreciation for the break! I was really excited that I had some time off work to complete some tasks at home and work on some projects. Being that I was out of school and my only plans were to work and go home, the initial sadness of having to cancel plans did not really sink in until later. I should also add that I was able to see more of my friends and family before all of this occurred which also made things a little easier. Now I am going to be honest, if this would have happened earlier this year my attitude would not have been the same! I was literally freaking out over everything! However, God was really working on my heart and challenging me to trust Him regardless of what happens (this was and still is a process that really started back in 2017ish). Therefore, when I first heard the news that we had to stay indoors to protect our health I was not really worried. I just took things day-by-day.

3. Realization

After a few days of being in quarantine I started to realize the effects it was having on the world and those around me. When I first heard of the COVID-19, I did not think that it was going to spread like it did (honestly most people probably did not think so either). As I began to do a little more research on the virus and its effects, it started to hurt. Knowing that so many people were and could potentially be affected physically and/or financially really got me to stop and look at the situation through a different lens. A lot of this stage was filled with having conversations with friends and those close to me to see how everything affected them and others. My biggest take-a-way from this stage was that this was a real situation that couldn’t be ignored.

4. Transformation

At this stage, I began to re-think my mindset. I had to think about not only my health, but the health of my family and those in my community. With the new (and factual) information that I obtained, I realized that while I am in some way directly effected by what is happening today, it was not about me. Yes, I need to care for myself, but I also had a duty as a friend, sister, daughter, etc. to be there for others in this time of uncertainty. In this stage I started to reflect and brainstorm ways I could be there in serve others with what I had. Sometimes a simple call or checking in on someone goes a long way!

5. Contentment

The next stage which I hope we all get to in the future… I do not think we will ever be okay with a pandemic or any occurrence that effects loved ones in such a drastic way. However, I do hope we get to a place where the feelings of worry and fear no longer overwhelm us. While we do need to be aware of cautious, we should not walk in fear regardless of the circumstances. Nobody truly knows what the future holds, but we do know that we are here right now. One of the hardest things about going through a crisis is that it forces us to be honest with ourselves. It forces us to accept that fact that regardless of what we do or what we want, we are never truly in control. My prayer is that once all of this is over, we leave with a new level of appreciation for life and a renewed mindset. I pray that we never lose sight of what is truly important in life.

We are not there yet, but one day this will pass. One day we will go back to a new version of normal. We will be done with the social distancing and begin to live life outside of the confines of buildings. It can be easy to look at where we are and become discouraged because honestly, things do not seem like they are getting better. However, it important to know that nothing lasts forever… As a people we have gotten through tough times and together we will get through this…

Take a way: I wrote this because I just wanted to share what was going through my head at this time. I just want to remind you all that you are not alone during this time. I know it can be hard to see things spiral out of control, and even though we know God is in control it can be hard to process everything that is happening in the world right now. In this season and any rough season, it is important to remember to stay (or get) connected with God and your community (virtual does count). Yes, it is easy to see Him work when things are going well, but even when it does not seem like it He is working in the midst of the storm.

If you need anything here are some resources and as always, I love connecting with you all on Instagram or via email!


5 Things to do When Bored

Let’s stay connected! We’ll send updates straight to your inbox!

Subscribe!Leave this field empty if you’re human:

Recent Posts

See All

Simple Everyday Makeup Routine for Beginners

Welcome back! Here is a really simple makeup look that is perfect if you just want to freshen up a little bit! The products that I used are listed below! Let’s stay connected! We’ll send updates strai

All Black_photo.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Hey! My name is Zakyrah and I am the writer and creator of Simply by Naté! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • YouTube
  • TikTok
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
bottom of page