top of page

Crossing the Threshold

Threshold: – a strip of wood, metal, or stone forming the bottom of a doorway and crossed in entering a house or room. – the magnitude or intensity that must be exceeded for a certain reaction, phenomenon, result, or condition to occur or be manifested.

I always thought a threshold was synonymous with a door frame. However, that is not what a threshold is at all. You do not walk through a threshold you walk over it. Or at least we are supposed to walk over it. Think about it, would it not be weird if we decided to stand on the threshold of our home as opposed to stepping over it so we could enter. Imagine if we for some reason felt so compelled to be both outside and inside at the same time. It sounds kind of illogical right?

What if I told you we actually stand on the threshold all the time? How many times have you found yourself so eager to step into a new area in your life, while still trying to hold on to what was? I know for me it has happened a lot! In fact, a large reason that I am starting the adulting series is because I needed a way to talk myself off the threshold between being an “official” adult and a young undergrad student. In this situation I was trying to enter my adult years and walk in my purpose while simultaneously trying to hold onto being a child.

This is an elementary threshold to be standing on, but I used it because maybe some of you can relate to it, but what are some other thresholds that we may stand on at some point in life. The threshold between ignorance and truth, comfort and uncertainty, stagnancy and growth; the list can go on. The truth is we think of the threshold as a safe place. It is not quite where we were before, but it is not quite where we could be if we just took a step.

I got this concept from Pastor Jeremy Foster when he preached at Elevation Church, and it caused me to do a lot of reflecting on myself and the world that we live in. I do not know about you all, but 2020 has been a crazy year to say the absolute least. I remember hearing people saying that this was going to be the year of vision (20/20 vision very clever I know). My state even went as far as naming 2020 as the year of the eye exam! For awhile I thought that people were just wrong. We just wanted to make this year amazing like we do every year and we found a cool mantra to go along with it. What a perfect marketing tactic!

However, let us just take a moment and analyze this year so far. Yes, we have seen a lot of hardships, but we have learned a lot about the state of humanity, those in leadership, and other areas we need to work on as a collective. For most people, the information that seems to be resurfacing is new or is adding on to what we already knew to be true. I can admit that I have learned a lot and I usually spend hours on end researching political and social issues that interest me. You would think that I would be an expert or at least know the answers to the questions being asked today. However, I do not. Why? Because I was paying attention to what interested ME and nothing else really mattered. This was not because I did not care, but because things that do not interest us are not going to be on our minds unless it is brought up by an outside source. This year, 2020, has been a year of things being brought up by sources outside of our daily scheduled programs.

Vision: – the faculty or state of being able to see. – the ability to think about or plan the future with imagination or wisdom.

If you ask me 2020 is the year of vision! A lot has been revealed about where we are here as individuals and as a unit. It has revealed brokenness, joy, peace, and discouragement. The journey has not been bliss, but it has revealed a lot of things. One thing that we can take from this season is truth and apply it so we have wisdom. A lot of us were and maybe still are blinded by a facade that says we have made it, that we can be impartial in every situation, that our actions do not matter, etc. Now we are all faced with the questions “What really matters?”, “What is most important in life?”, and “What am I called to go from here?”.

So now here we are. We are faced with a decision. Are we going to choose a side of the threshold or are we going to stand on it? One causes us to be comfortable, one causes us to move forward, and the other gives us the false sense of being able to do both. The truth is being on the threshold means nothing. What you do beyond the threshold is what matters.


Let’s stay connected! We’ll send updates straight to your inbox!

Subscribe!Leave this field empty if you’re human:

Recent Posts

See All

The Comparison Trap : Doubt

Doubt can easily creep into out lives especially when we are comparing ourselves to others. This video is a continuation of the “Comparison Trap” series. If you have not seen the first post then don’t

All Black_photo.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Hey! My name is Zakyrah and I am the writer and creator of Simply by Naté! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • YouTube
  • TikTok
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
bottom of page