top of page

Fasting: My Experience & What I Have Learned

Growing up fasting was not a big part of my life. I know there were a few people who probably did it every now and then. However, most people that I knew did it during Lent typically giving up something until Easter Sunday. However, it was not until I joined an on-campus ministry in college that I really started to think about fasting. Without going into too many details the ministry that I was a part of encouraged every new member to do a fast which included the Daniel’s Fast along with other things. Essentially, we were to use this time as a period of intentional prayer and reading of scripture. This was uncomfortable for me initially because I did not quite understand the reason behind fasting even though I grew up in a Christian household. However, as I have grown spiritually my perception of fasting has changed. Here are some things I have come to realize:


1. It’s not really about what you are giving up


  1. Typically, a fast requires you to give something up. It can be anything from food, to a habit, or even an activity. One thing that I have come to realize is that what you give up is not really that important. I believe the most important thing during a fast is what you decide to focus on. I can recall times when I was fasting and all I could think about was how many days I had left or how much I missed whatever it was I was sacrificing. However, fasting is supposed to be a time where we can eliminate distractions and truly focus on God. As humans this is not always second nature for us. We tend to get so caught up in what is happening around us that it can be easy to push God to the side. Once I realized that fasting was more spiritual and mental than it was physical, I began to value my time with God while fasting. Giving up something that had become a daily part of my life was not easy, but the clarity and spiritual growth from intentional time spent with God overshadowed that.


2. It’s solely between you and God


  1. Even when a fast is done corporately it is ultimately personal. When I fasted with my ministry, we all had different experiences because we were all at different points in our life and we all needed different things. When doing a corporate fast there is a level of support and “togetherness” that can definitely help hold you accountable during this shared experience. However, these things are not always available when you make a personal commitment to God to fast. When I first felt led to fast outside of a corporate fast, it was a very personal and eye-opening experience. There were no prayer groups or Bible studies that could push me to keep going through with what God called me to do. It was just me and God. I had to fully rely and confide in Him throughout the entire fast. This made me realize (along with other things) that trusting and relying in God fully was something that I did not do often enough. When you are fasting, there will be things revealed to you that you may not have noticed before. Once things are revealed, then you can begin to make adjustments and receive the spiritual growth that comes along with it.

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash



3. It’s about following through with the commitment that you made with God

  1. When fasting you must be very clear about what it will entail. When I did a personal fast, I prayed about it and was very clear about what my fast would look like (how long, what I was giving up, etc.). This is necessary because when clear guidelines are not set it is easy to start negotiating. Maybe some of you can relate, but I know that if there is something that I want it is not difficult for me to provide some sort of justification for it. However, having clear guidelines convicted me when I felt as though I wanted to push the limits. Why? Because this was not just a “thing” I was doing to help me get in shape or do better in my professional life. This was a commitment that I made with God. I have come a long way in my spiritual journey (and still have a very long way to go), but I have been on this journey long enough to know that God always keeps His promises. Therefore, I should strive to keep my promises to Him. Keeping this in mind helped me fight the urge to end my fast early or make adjustments in the middle of the fast.

So, the takeaway is that I do believe fasting is important as a Christian. It causes us to take the time to really focus on God. While I do not believe that this leads to one’s salvation or makes one any more holy, I do think it is something to consider adding into your life if you want to continue to grow spiritually. As I mentioned before fasting is a very personal thing, but it is easier when done with a community. So, if you feel like you need a community, then find one that you know will encourage you every step of the way. Pray about it, don’t focus on what you have to give up, but focus on the area of your life God is trying to work in. Just as He has committed Himself to us, we are called to live our lives committed to Him.

What are your thoughts? Is fasting something that is a part of your spiritual life? What does it look like for you? Let’s have a conversation about it!


Hear God’s Voice More Clearly

Let’s stay connected! We’ll send updates straight to your inbox!

Subscribe!Leave this field empty if you’re human:

Recent Posts

See All

The Comparison Trap : Doubt

Doubt can easily creep into out lives especially when we are comparing ourselves to others. This video is a continuation of the “Comparison Trap” series. If you have not seen the first post then don’t

All Black_photo.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Hey! My name is Zakyrah and I am the writer and creator of Simply by Naté! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • YouTube
  • TikTok
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
bottom of page