top of page

Life After College: Tips on Making the Next Step

So, if you have read my welcome post, you may already know that I have completed my undergraduate degree (yayyyyyy)! My time in college has been such a great experience! I met some amazing people, created amazing memories, and learned so much about my field and who I am as an individual. However, after college I was left with a lot of decisions as I entered the “real-world”. I knew that I wanted to continue my education and study law, but I knew that meant that I would have a gap semester since I finished college in December (most law schools don’t allow new students to take classes until the fall semester).

I am going to be honest, knowing that I was finishing college was both exciting and a little nerve-wrecking. The way our educational system is set up, our entire time in school is preparing us not for life but for the next level of education. Taking a semester off was a weird concept for me to wrap my head around. While I did feel that I learned a lot and could make it in the “real-world”, not being in school was unfamiliar and in many ways intimidating. Looking back, I now realize that saying I was “in school” was just a way of making myself and others think “Z has her life together”; it was merely a verbal safety net.

As I was wrapping up my last semester, I tried my best to just enjoy the season I was in because I knew that I could never get that time back. I applied for law schools, looked for jobs, and all the other things people may do as they are preparing for graduation. However, in the back of my mind I knew that finishing undergrad was going to be a big step in my life. No matter how many times I go back to school (after law school I’m done lol) I’m an “official adult” now. Embracing this reality has been an unsettling yet rewarding experience.

“I am getting better with letting go of the things I cannot control, but again it’s a process!”

At this point, I have come to terms with going into the next step of my life, but it was definitely (and still is) a process. Being a “type A” person, I am used to planning every detail of my life which is pretty hard to do when there are things you are still unsure of and/or cannot control. I am getting better with letting go of the things I cannot control, but again it is a process! Here are some ways that I’ve learned to “go with the flow” while still planning for the future:

Stop thinking about it 24/7. Take the time to pray, read, write, create, etc. Do something that takes your mind off “the next step”. This will help you better focus on yourself and not your situation (there is a difference). I find that when I stop dwelling on something, I can actually start seeing it work itself out. Plus, even if you are planning for things to get done it is going to take time! Not everything will happen overnight!

Have someone you trust and can talk to. Having my friends and family surrounding and encouraging me helped A LOT during this season of my life. It helped me realize that the pressure of being “amazing” and “put together” is usually just us being overly critical of ourselves. Those who matter and truly support your growth will be there for you regardless of any life changes (within reason of course)! Appreciate and focus on those relationships and the positivity they bring.

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Be weary of everything you hear. One thing that stressed me out the most was trying to meet a particular set of standards. While many people mean the best, at the end of the day you must choose the path that’s right for you! You cannot live your life based what others want to see manifested in your life. This in a way relates to the previous topic in that you will have to be intentional about who you have in your circle. Figure out what your goals are and go from there!

Focus on how far you have come, not how far you have to go. Everything that we have on our timeline isn’t necessarily in sync with God’s timeline. Take the time to appreciate what you have accomplished and keep striving towards your goals in a healthy way. If things do not go as planned that is okay, just keep moving forward! Life is a journey and you should try to enjoy every part of it.

Let’s chat! What are some feelings you have had while going through a major life change? What are some things that have gotten you through those times? Let me know in the comments!


How to Navigate Your Next Step In Life

Let’s stay connected! We’ll send updates straight to your inbox!

Subscribe!Leave this field empty if you’re human:

Recent Posts

See All

Simple Everyday Makeup Routine for Beginners

Welcome back! Here is a really simple makeup look that is perfect if you just want to freshen up a little bit! The products that I used are listed below! Let’s stay connected! We’ll send updates strai

All Black_photo.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Hey! My name is Zakyrah and I am the writer and creator of Simply by Naté! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • YouTube
  • TikTok
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
bottom of page